Discover our products

Find everything to support your Ayurvedic lifestyle. From cosmetics to yoga and meditation supplies to food supplements and healthy snacks.

Ayurveda Principles

Understand the philosophy and efficiency of Ayurveda

What are the Ayurveda types?

Learn more about the basic principles

Ayurveda believes that everything in this universe is made out of five elements – Earth, Water, Fire, Air and Space. A predefined combination of the five elements gives birth to three distinct energies in the body-mind complex of every individual.


These energies or functional forces are called Vata, Pitta and Kapha. Irregular and inappropriate diet and lifestyle, stress and environmental influences can create an imbalance in the system, resulting in illness. When balanced, the ‘doshas’ (Vata, Pitta, Kapha) manifest as health and harmony.


The three doshas (Ayurveda types), explained:


Formed of Air and Space elements. Principle responsible for movements in body and mind - Characterised by these qualities: light, cold, mobile, dry and fine.


Formed of Fire and Water elements. Principle responsible for metabolism and transformation - Characterised by these qualities: moist (wet), pungent, sharp, liquid and hot.


Formed of Earth and Water elements. Principle responsible for hydration, binding and nourishment - Characterised by these qualities: slow, heavy, stable, cold and oily.

Ayurveda types
Prakruti and Vikruti

Every individual embodies a specific combination of the three functional forces, Vata, Pitta and Kapha. They are embedded in every body-mind system or constitution.


The unique physical, cognitive, emotional and intellectual characteristics and behaviour of a person, are called Prakruti. When the Vata, Pitta and Kapha principles are stabilised, we experience health, enthusiasm and harmony.

An imbalance of any of the doshas causes disharmony and expresses itself as illness. These imbalances are called Vikruti.


Knowing what is our Prakruti, our personal, unique constitution can help us know how to manage the Vikruti, or the imbalances in our system.

Ayurveda types
Living well

In the hustle and bustle of today’s modern life, the secret to living a higher quality life is adjusting to 4 important factors:

  • Nutrition
  • Routine/Lifestyle
  • Mental hygiene/Stress Management
  • Adapting to the fast-changing environmental influences


Knowing the basic nature of our body-mind system (Prakruti) helps in determining:

  • the best type of nutrition
  • the optimal amount and format of physical exercise
  • the ideal life routine
  • which mindfulness techniques to use

This tailor-made detoxing steps are set up according to the individual’s Vikruti (imbalances).

By following the recommended steps we get established in a holistic way of living well. Health, harmony and happiness become our day-to-day companions.

Ayurvedic expert

The best way to know your constitution is to make an individual appointment with an ayurvedic expertDifferent people have a different combination of elements – Prakruti and Vikruti – and, for this reason, will need to incorporate different practices in their life.


Experts in Ayurveda, study these ancient texts and applications for over 14 years, this extensive training equips them with the knowledge to make a  precise diagnosis in the patient. As each individual is unique,  so is every consultation. Each moment is unique and specific to the individual. 


Like the seasons, our bodies are also in flux. Environmental changes along with a combination of elements, cause our bodies to alter, it is therefore imperative to keep your consultations regular with your  Ayurveda expert so they can help keep you in balance.